Where I’m From

Umami BurgerGraffiti graced walls Purple porch

Here’s a poem I recently wrote at a retreat with other volunteers in Los Angeles that reflects on my time so far in Hollywood and how I might explain where I am coming from to people at my next destination.  If you have any questions or comments, send them my way!  Also, I’ve currently raised $6,025 of $6,500 – I’m so close to the goal!

Where I’m From

I am from sirens, a black cat, and talk about the weather.
I am from the purple porch, the graffiti graced walls, the green curtain (keeping out those who wouldn’t dare come in.)
I am from a stiff, black chair supporting my weight during Morning Mindset and coffee brewing in the kitchen. I am from an unpleasant odor living in the carpet, masked by incense. And the day old pastries falling apart as they make the trip to my mouth.
I am from banana-peanut-butter-oatmeal and a nalgene of purified water.
I am from La Casa de la Communidad, from community dinners and hands held around the table giving grace.
I’m from standing in line at X2, eating umami burgers and sweet potato fries. From realizing that I can hurt others. From joyful.
I am from do not be anxious about anything, and a story that each friend has to tell, about alcohol and drugs, a broken family, and anxiety about where he will sleep tonight and where his dinner might come from.
I am from Hollywood.
3 thoughts on “Where I’m From

  1. Hope there is a slice of onion on that burger! It really looks great.
    Praying for you daily.
    BTW, any ideas that you can express here as to where you’re headed in two months or what you might be doing?
    Does a new position require support or would you be re-entering the business world?

Leave a Reply

